skip to main content


Council Chamber


On the 1st April 2015 Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council assumed responsibility for the new Council area, following the amalgmation of Lisburn City Council and Castlereagh Borough Council.

The Council, made up of 40 Elected Members, represents 140,205 residents in 58,868 homes and covers an area of nearly 200 square miles.

If you currently live in Castlereagh or Lisburn the majority of homes have transferred over into the new Council, however some former residents will now be within the Belfast City Council area.


Lisburn & Castlereagh District Electoral Areas

The new Council is represented by seven District Electoral Areas:

Castlereagh East
Ballyhanwood, Carrowreagh, Dundonald, Enler, Graham’s Bridge, Moneyreagh

Castlereagh South
Beechill, Cairnshill, Carryduff East, Carryduff West, Galwally, Knockbracken, Newtownbreda

Downshire East
Ballymacbrennan, Dromara, Drumbo, Hillhall, Ravernet

Downshire West
Blaris, Hillsborough, Lagan, Maze, Moira

Ballinderry, Glenavy, Maghaberry, Stoneyford, White Mountain

Lisburn North
Derriaghy, Harmony Hill, Hilden, Lambeg, Magheralave, Wallace Park

Lisburn South
Ballymacash, Ballymacoss, Knockmore, Lagan Valley, Lisnagarvey, Old Warren


Areas transferring to Belfast City Council

The following areas have been transferred to the new Belfast City Council area:

Former Castlereagh Borough Area
Minnowburn, Belvoir, Ballyhanwood (part of), Cregagh, Downshire, Galwally, Glencregagh, Hillfoot, Lisnasharragh, Lower Braniel, Merok, Tullycarnet, Upper Braniel and Wynchurch – This covers the area from Milltown Road to Newtownbreda, plus the Glencregagh, Manse and Middle Braniel Roads, up to Gilnahirk and Tullycarnet.

Former Lisburn City Area
Dunmurry Village, Colin Glen, Kilwee, Lagmore, Twinbrook, Poleglass, Edenderry

To find out more information about areas transferring to Belfast City Council please visit