skip to main content


Mayor's Community Awards 2019 launched

Mayor's Community Awards 2019 launched

September 26, 2018

The 2019 Mayor’s Community Awards has been launched with nominations now being accepted across seven categories.

The annual Awards recognise the voluntary and community sectors’ input and dedication to community life across Lisburn and Castlereagh.

Launching the 2019 Mayor's Community Awards are Rhonda O'Neill, Community Support Officer, Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council; Cathy Adamson, Mayor's Secretary; The Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin; Andrew Bill, Area Youth Worker, The Education Authority; Antje Otto, Community Engagement Officer, Volunteer Now and Sandra Glover, Health Development Specialist, South Eastern Health & Social Care Trust.

Speaking at the launch the Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin, said: “It is important that this annual event reflects the work and effort that takes place across the wider Council community.  The Community Awards give recognition to inspirational individuals and groups whose selfless efforts have led to very significant successful outcomes across our Council area.”

“I am asking everyone to have a think about who deserves this recognition and please take the time to submit a nomination before the deadline of Friday 26th October at 4pm.  Anyone who gives of their time for others deserves to be recognised.  Best wishes to all the nominees.”

There are a total of seven categories in the Awards with all categories open to individuals and groups. These are: Helping Hands Award, The Brian McDowell Voluntary Commitment to your Community Award, Youth Leadership Award, Community Leadership Award, Charity of the Year Award, Making a Difference Award and The Mayor’s Choice Award.

Nominations will close on Friday 26th October at 4pm.  Judging will take place in November and the Awards Gala Event will take place in La Mon Hotel in March 2019. Please note that self-nominations will not be accepted.

The judging panel will comprise the Working Group with representatives from Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council, Volunteer Now, the Education Authority and the South Eastern Health & Social Care Trust.

Click here for further details on the Awards and to download a nomination form.  The Council’s facebook and twitter pages will post up-to-date information on the Awards.