Mayor hosts reception for outgoing PCSP members

October 15, 2020

Mayor of Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council, Councillor Nicholas Trimble recently hosted a reception to mark the end of service of some Lisburn & Castlereagh Policing and Community Safety Partnership members.

After many years serving on the PCSP Donna Hancock, Philip Dean, Martin Bushe and Christine McCullough have reached the end of their independent membership.

Mayor Trimble, speaking about the commitment of these individuals said: “During their service, which is a collective total of 26 years, they have worked hard to make our communities safer.  Through partnership working as part of the PCSP, they have achieved significant milestones that will continue to be built on.

 “These have included the installation of 16 speed indicator signs in rural and urban areas across the Lisburn Castlereagh area to encourage speed limits to be adhered to.  The establishment of Neighbourhood Watch Schemes within communities to look out for neighbours and deter burglaries and crimes in their area.  

“Through support from the PCSP and the PSNI alongside the other independent members they embraced the opportunity to establish the ‘Grand Choice’ participatory budgeting initiative in our area.  The first tranche in the Killultagh DEA was a fantastic success in February; and we look forward to seeing it being rolled out across further DEAs in the future. 

“Their support for our communities has not just focused on reducing crime.  The PCSP also focused on activities to engage young people to reduce anti-social behaviour; and educate them on internet safety, which is very important in this digital age.  For those in our communities that needed support to safely dispose of prescription or illegal drugs the PCSP installed RAPID bins across the council area.  These centrally local rapid disposal drug bins allow anyone to safely dispose of any drugs at a time suitable to them.

“On behalf of the council and Lisburn & Castlereagh PSNI I would like to thank our outgoing independent members of the Lisburn & Castlereagh PCSP and wish them every success in their futures."