skip to main content


Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected for Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council

Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected for Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council

June 8, 2018

Councillor Uel Mackin (Democratic Unionist Party) has been elected Mayor of Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council at the Council’s Annual Meeting, held 8th June 2018.

Councillor Amanda Grehan (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland) was elected as Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor was proposed for election by Alderman James Tinsley and seconded by Councillor Scott Carson and supported by all Council Members.

The Deputy Mayor was proposed by Councillor Owen Gawith and seconded by Councillor Hazel Legge. The proposal was also supported by all Elected Members.

The newly elected Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin expressed his thanks and best wishes to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Tim Morrow and Deputy Mayor, Councillor Hazel Legge.  He provided some insight to his political journey as the first member of his family to ever work in political life and he spoke fondly of the importance of organisations for young people, like the Boys Brigade, of which he has been a life-long member.

He said he was deeply appreciative of his party colleagues and the Elected Members of Council to be elected Mayor.

Councillor Mackin also thanked his wife, Jennifer and his family for their important support.

The Mayor said: “Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council is a leading Council and this is due to the hard work and commitment of Elected Members and of course our staff.

“Recent activities have included the production of the new Corporate Plan, our Community Plan for the area and our Performance Improvement Plan, which is currently being finalised. Some of the best events in Northern Ireland take place in our area and there is a tremendous tourism potential.

“I intend to work in my role as Mayor to continue to better the area, and to assist in developing opportunities for the area across sectors.  My aim is to start building for a positive future. I also hope to meet as many local businesses, community groups, organisations and people across the area as possible in my capacity as Mayor.”

The Mayor announced his Mayoral Charity at the Annual Meeting.  It will be the Cancer Fund for Children. This valuable work includes the provision of help, guidance and support for children and young people aged 0–24 years who have been diagnosed with cancer as well as support for families.

Councillor Mackin said: “I really hope the community will rally round and help raise funds for my Mayoral Charity. It is a cause very close to my heart. We intend to raise as much money as possible to support the Cancer Fund for Children’s work, as this illness affects so many people.”

The following Committees, with Chair and Vice-Chair representation, as appointed at the Annual Meeting are:

Corporate Services Committee
Councillor Nathan Anderson        (Chair)               
Councillor Ben Mallon                 (Vice-Chair)

Leisure & Community Development Committee
Alderman Paul Porter                 (Chair)                           
Councillor John Gallen               (Vice-Chair)

Development Committee
Alderman William Leathem        (Chair)                 
Alderman Allan Ewart                (Vice-Chair)

Environmental Services Committee
Councillor Janet Gray                (Chair)                 
Alderman James Tinsley           (Vice-Chair)

Governance and Audit Committee
Councillor Thomas Beckett        (Chair)                 
Councillor Sharon Scott             (Vice-Chair)

Planning Committee
Alderman David Drysdale          (Chair)                 
Councillor Owen Gawith            (Vice-Chair)

Capital Projects Committee
Alderman Jim Dillon                    (Chair)                
Councillor Brian Hanvey             (Vice-Chair)


The Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin.

The Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin and Mayoress, Mrs Jennifer Mackin.

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Amanda Grehan.

The Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin and Deputy Mayor, Councillor Amanda Grehan.

The Mayor and Mayoress with their family.

The Deputy Mayor with her family.

The newly elected Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin congratulated by his Party.

Congratulating the Mayor, Councillor Uel Mackin on today's election as Mayor.


The Mayor, Councillor Mackin being congratulated by Councillor Sharon Skillen and Councillor Rhoda Walker.


The newly elected Deputy Mayor, Councillor Amanda Grehan, congratulated by her Party.