skip to main content


Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected

Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected

May 24, 2019

Councillor Alan Givan (DUP) has been elected Mayor of Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council at the Council’s Annual Meeting, which was held today (24th May 2019).

Councillor Johnny McCarthy (SDLP) was elected as Deputy Mayor.

The new Mayor thanked his party colleagues, his wife, Elizabeth, and his family for supporting his election to office. He said he was delighted to take up his new position within the council and was honoured to have been nominated. The Mayor said he was looking forward to working with the new Deputy Mayor and he congratulated Councillor McCarthy on his new position.

As a mark of respect the council held a minute’s silence for its former colleague, Freeman and friend, Mr Seamus Close OBE.

Councillor Givan announced that his new Mayoral Charity will be the Air Ambulance for Northern Ireland, which has its headquarters base at the Maze site in Lisburn. He also stated his intention to hold a fundraiser for the important work of Spinal Research UK.

He said: “I hope that people will rally round and support the amazing life-saving work from the Air Ambulance. I visited the headquarters recently and met staff there and the work is just so impressive and so humbling to hear about. An air ambulance can be anywhere in Northern Ireland from Lisburn within 25 minutes. This work has really touched a chord with me and I want to raise as much money as possible to help the Air Ambulance Charity save lives and to be where it is needed.

“During my year as Mayor, I also intend to hold a charity event to raise money for Spinal Research UK, as I have seen the devastation and the life-changing injuries that can result from spinal accidents. I want to make a difference to the causes I have chosen and I know I have the support of the Elected Members of the Council in getting a Charity Committee set up. I look forward to getting this work underway.

“I am also looking forward to representing the Lisburn and Castlereagh area as we move forward with our £250m Investment Plan, the positioning of the area and our City Deal projects. It is necessary for local authorities to lead for the area and to look to service delivery excellence, innovation and to make a difference on the ground.

“I would also like to express my admiration for the work of the former Mayor Cllr Uel Mackin and Deputy Mayor Alderman Amanda Grehan who were both excellent ambassadors for the Council,” he concluded.

The following Committees, with Chair and Vice-Chair representation, as appointed at the Annual Meeting are:

Corporate Services Committee
Councillor Ryan Carlin     (Chair)               
Alderman Paul Porter      (Vice-Chair)

Leisure & Community Development Committee
Alderman James Tinsley  (Chair)                         
Councillor Hazel Legge     (Vice-Chair)

Development Committee
Alderman Allan Ewart (Chair)                 
Alderman Jim Dillon    (Vice-Chair)

Environmental Services Committee
Alderman James Baird (Chair)                 
Alderman Tim Morrow  (Vice-Chair)

Governance and Audit Committee
Councillor John Gallen          (Chair)                 
Councillor Sorcha Eastwood (Vice-Chair)

Planning Committee
Councillor Jonathan Craig (Chair)                 
Councillor Owen Gawith    (Vice-Chair)

Capital Projects Committee
Councillor Thomas Beckett (Chair)                
Councillor Gary McCleave   (Vice-Chair)


The new Mayor, Cllr Alan Givan and new Deputy Mayor, Cllr Johnny McCarthy.


Mayor, Cllr Alan Givan and Mayoress, Mrs Elizabeth Givan.


Deputy Mayor, Cllr Johnny McCarthy and Mrs Fiona McCarthy.


The Mayor and Mayoress with family members.


The Mayor with his Grandson Ezra Graham.