LCCC Bestowed Highest Accolade to Three Long Serving Political Representatives

February 7, 2020

The Freedom of the City of Lisburn & Castlereagh was bestowed on Alderman Jim Dillon MBE JP, Mrs Geraldine Rice MBE and Mr Tommy Jeffers on Saturday 8th February 2020.

This honour is in recognition of their contribution to public life within Lisburn Castlereagh and beyond for nearly a century collectively.

Alderman Jim Dillon was first elected in 1977 and both Mrs Geraldine Rice and Mr Tommy Jeffers were first elected in 1989.

All three have been honoured for their commitment to better the council area for its residents, helping to deliver new facilities and services and boost the local economy through construction, economic development and tourism. 

The Mayor, Councillor Alan Givan, officiated at the ceremony held in the Council Chamber at Lagan Valley Island.  Current Freemen, Lady Mary Peters CH DBE and Mrs Joan Christie CVO OBE attended at the ceremony to see Alderman Jim Dillon MBE JP, Mrs Geraldine Rice MBE and Mr Tommy Jeffers become fellow freemen; along with elected members, family and invited guests.

Speaking at the event the Mayor said: “Each of you has embraced your duties as elected representatives with dedication and impartiality, which is commendable.   Integrity is the one word that connects our three new Freemen. Their passion, faith and commitment to serving our community has been unfailing for many years, and they truly are an inspiration to their peers.

“On behalf of the council I would like to thank them for the difference they have made to the Lisburn Castlereagh community and delivering the best council services to those who voted them into office.”