PLEASE NOTE: This article is over 1 year old and may not contain the most up-to-date information.

Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council Elects its First Mayor and Deputy Mayor

March 23, 2015

At its Annual Meeting, held today, Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council elected its Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

  Councillor Thomas Beckett (DUP) was elected Mayor of the new Council. The Deputy Mayor is Councillor Alex Redpath (UUP). The positions were unanimously agreed by the 40 Elected Members.

  The new Council will become the new local government authority on 1st April and the Mayor will assume his duties as the First Citizen for Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council, at that time.

  Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council will also operate six Standing Committees:-

  Corporate Services
Chairman – Alderman James Tinsley
Vice Chairman – Cllr Amanda Grehan

Chairman – Alderman Allan Ewart
Vice Chairman – Alderman Jim Dillon

  Environmental Services
Chairman – Cllr Brian Hanvey
Vice Chairman – Cllr Tim Mitchell

  Governance & Audit
Chairman – Alderman William Leathem
Vice Chairman – Cllr Vasundhara Kamble

  Leisure & Community Development
Chairman – Alderman Paul Porter
Vice Chairman – Cllr Aaron McIntyre


Chairman – Alderman Michael Henderson
Vice Chairman – Cllr Andrew Girvin